Di Gi Charat: Winter Garden (Review ;D)

Cause I have nothing else to do, I felt like copying Sam, and I have a feeling you guys are thinking “What the FFFF is this Winter Garden anime crap thing Jed keeps talking about?”

WELL. YEA. Here’s a little review on it ;D

But be warned, if you plan on watching this, there’s some spoilers in this thing LOL. Skip over to the ratings if you wanna know my opinion on this :D

(Click on “Read The Rest Of This Entry” to read the review :] )

___________________________________________________

Winter Garden is a 2-episode-long Spin Off of the series “Di Gi Charat.” The original Di Gi Charat is about 16 episodes, with each episode being about three minutes long. It follows the life of an alien catgirl named Dejiko, along with her sister, Puchiko, and their guardian, Gema. Basically, Dejiko, Puchiko, and Gema crash land on Akihabara, Japan from another planet. But since this review isn’t ABOUT the original series, I’m gonna make it short ;D

DEJIKO CRASHES ON EARTH, SHE WANTS TO BECOME AN IDOL, SHE HAS NO MONEY TO STAY ANYWHERE, SO SHE WORKS AT A STORE CALLED GAMERS. :] And by the way, Dejiko and Puchiko can shoot lasers out their eyes. LOL OHYEA!

ETC, ETC, ETC. :]

ANYWAYS.

ISN'T IT PRETTY? :DDDDDDDDDD

Winter Garden (is supposed to) take place 10 years after the original Di Gi Charat series. They have grown up quite a lot, and they have definitely matured and changed. And I MEAN changed. Dejiko, in the original series, is a fiesty, sassy, impatient, and hostile little girl… Basically, think of Bonnie on a bad day with Unkz. In Winter Garden, she has become a very sweet, kind, and shy girl, losing every single quality she once had. Puchiko, on the other hand, stayed quite the same, being really docile. Though, she does have a bit of change, becoming a bit more sassy with some smarts. It also seems as if both have lost their ability to shoot lasers out their eyes.

In my opinion, it doesn’t seem as if Winter Garden even connects to the original series. In a good way, at least. Even before watching this spin off, you don’t need any knowledge of the original whatsoever. I don’t even think they’re aliens anymore LOL. It’s completely different, but as I said, in a good way.

Winter Garden is a cute little romantic OVA that’s seemingly more realistic than most anime(s) I’ve seen so far. It’s not a Fruits Basket, a Love Hina, and definitely not a Naruto. It maybe an Ouran, if you must. The story follows 20 year old Dejiko, who works at a cake shop. During Christmas night, she slips and falls on her way home from work, completely ruining the cake she was supposed to share with her sister. Although, a man named Takarou sees her and offers her his cake in exchange for hers. She ends up completely falling him. They end up meeting again, and they seemingly start to date each other. SEEMINGLY. Their relationship was never confirmed through the OVA’s though LOL.

Dejiko and Takarou

CAAN YOU FEEEEL THE LOOOVE TONIIGHT!

ANYWAYS. Yea, it seems really TYPICAL for a TYPICAL love story to TYPICALLY start off like this in a TYPICAL way.

…typical.

Though, in the 2nd OVA, it’s revealed that Dejiko and Puchiko have to end up moving, in which Dejiko is worried about. Mainly because of her brand new relationship with Takarou. Though, while walking down the street, Dejiko’s friend ends up seeing Takarou with another woman arguing. In her eyes, it seemed like a relationship-related argument, so she hurried to Dejiko and told her the news. Dejiko, surprisingly, wasn’t shocked, and she seemed to take it well. She thought of it as a good thing, since Takarou was seemingly with another woman, and since Dejiko herself had to move away, she wouldn’t hurt him in any way. In the inside, though, she was hurt. So, in the end, she ended up moving without telling Takarou.

BUT. If you watch through the credits in the 2nd OVA, Takarou discovers that she’s moving, and ends up seeing her in the moving truck. He chases after her, and she ends up stopping for him.

And get this.
The woman Takarou looked like he was with…

…WAS ACTUALLY HIS SISTER! LOLOLOLOLOL! And that calls for the biggest fail in animated romantic drama. :] (And before you say anything, they weren’t in an incestuous relationship. LOL. They were probably just close >_>)

Ohyea ;D Now it’s time for ratings :D!

Animation/Graphics: 9/10
I absolutely love the character designs and scenery of this OVA. The character designs are completely adorable, and I love how the characters don’t wear the same thing in every episode, let alone everyday in the OVA, like usual anime you see. But different outfits are TYPICAL (LOL) in most short romantic OVAs (In the yaoi anime(s) I’ve seen, they never wear the same thing unless it’s a uniform LOL). The backgrounds are really nice too, having a nice watercolor-like effect on everything. One noted flaw is (I read this somewhere before) that there’s no shading xD. I mean, you can see some shading or shine in their hair behind the neck or a wrinkle in their clothing, but that’s pretty much it. But nothing to complain about, I hardly ever shade my drawings unless they’re realistic LOL. And I absolutely love the hilarious expressions on the people’s faces in the background LOL. If you ever get to watch this, during Puchiko’s song, look at the her band’s facesthe people in the audience behind Dejiko. LOL. That’s classic. LOL.

A little summary of the whole OVA in the form of a 4-Panel-Comic ;DD

Storyline/Plot: 9.5/10
The story would’ve gotten a perfect 10/10 if it weren’t so short. Add 10 more episodes or an hour to each episode, and it’s perfect. The story is totally relatable, considering that things like this do actually happen with your first love. Not specifically this, but there is some drama added to love, and this was a perfect way to put it.

Characters: 10/10
Puchiko’s character pretty much gave this thing the perfect score. I’ll get into that later though LOL. Anyways, the characters are, once again, completely relatable. They’re human, and they have the most laid back personalities one can think of. Something I can totally relate to. Though the change from the original series to this OVA is dramatic, I like the change. Even though I did like the whole laser-eye-alien thing. LOL. Dejiko’s loss of hostility did kind of disappoint me, although I still love her adorable personality in Winter Garden.

Music: 7/10
The opening and ending…not my taste. I’m sorry LOL. The songs are really good though, but they’re not something I’d listen to LOL. But what DID give this thing at least a C in my tastes is that Puchiko performed a song at the end of the 2nd OVA, and I really liked it xD. It was a cool calming french song ;D It’s pretty cool to see an Asian sing in French, amirite? ;D LOL.

Overall: 9/10
This anime is definitely something I’d recommend watching. I actually prefer this OVA over the original series, even though I am more of a comedy-guy. :D But I only give this anime a A- because it’s short. 2 episodes isn’t enough for me D: , add10-20 more episodes, it’s perfect for me ;D

AND NOOOOW. I shall tell you guys…

MY FAVORITE CHARACTER! [insert exciting music here]

And it iiiiiiiisssss…

*drum roll*

…PUCHIKO! TA-DAA! :D

THE AWESOMEST OF THE AWESOMEST!

Puchiko: 10,000/10 (Yes, she gets her own rating ;D)
I absolutely loveloveLOVE her character in this. She’s the slight comic relief (and I absolutely LOVE comic relief ;D), her personality is AWESOME (independent+sassy+laid back+comic relief? That’s SOO me. ;D), and she has AWESOMETASTICAL drawing skills in the OVA ;DD OHYEA!

And THERE IT IS ;D My little review :]

4 comments on “Di Gi Charat: Winter Garden (Review ;D)

  1. Bonnie says:

    “Dejiko, in the original series, is a fiesty, sassy, impatient, and hostile little girl… Basically, think of Bonnie on a bad day with Unkz.”

    THANKS JED, LOLOLOL.

    …now I want to watch this. RAAAAAAGH. WHY ARE THERE SO MANY THINGS TO WATCH AND ME HAVING NO QUALITY TIME TO WATCH.

    • Jed says:

      OH, AND JUST IN CASE, I PUT PICTURES IF YOU MISSED IT ;D

      and NO PROBLEM :DDD IT’S MY JOB, AND I DO IT WELL ;D

  2. felixdrillz says:

    Wow, Puchiko is truly adorable. This made me want to give the anime a go..I probably should after I catch up on all my other animes.
    It seems like the sorta ones you watch for cuteness LOL.

  3. […] REVIEWS (Warning: Spoilers LOL): ~Di Gi Charat: Winter Garden ~Papa To Kiss In The Dark ~Ouran High School Host […]

Leave a Reply

