Nerd Rant: Sonic :]

Okay, so you know I’m a big fat Sonic nerd.

I started off with Sonic Advance, then got SA2:B, then SADX, Sonic Advance 2, then Sonic Mega Collection, Sonic Heroes, etc, etc.

I never owned a Dreamcast, although, but Sonic Mega Collection helped me catch up with the Sonic Classics, like the original Sonic the Hedgehog, Sonic and Knuckles, and a good ol’ classic, Dr.Robotnik’s Mean Bean Machine.

It’s been FOREVER since I’ve played a Sonic game, since I practically gave my Gamecube and all my amazing Sonic games to my cousin. I mean, I love him and all, and his family didn’t have enough money to buy game consoles, so why not be nice and give away games I never played anymore?

I mean, I kinda regret it, since it’s my favorite childhood pastime, but still. I don’t mind.

Anyways.

Old Sonic Games: Amazing Win.

New Sonic Games: Amazing FAILBIRDS. [Insert Dear Ashley moment here (you know, Dear Ashley from All That? LOL)]

Seriously.

It’s been YEARS since Sega came out with a good Sonic game. One that I prefer, at least.

So about 2-3 years back, Sega and Sonic Team came out with Sonic and the Secret Rings.

I was thinking, “Oh hey, it’s been forever since I’ve played Sonic, and he’s like my all time favorite video game character, so why not give it a shot?”

So I bought it, being loyal to my classic Sonic roots.

It failed.

I’m sorry, but it failed.

I don’t wanna sound so harsh but, seriously, it REALLY disappointed me.

I played it for a day or 2, then set it aside and let the box collect dust. It was extremely disappointing.

The gameplay is somewhat similar to that of Sonic Adventure, but something about it was different.

The mission concept bored me though. I noticed once you finished a stage, that’s all you did. Then a new mission came up for you to complete.

I prefer the whole reaching-the-goal-and-continuing-the-story concept in Sonic Adventure.

The controls were difficult too.

After Sonic and the Secret Rings, I stopped getting the other new games like Sonic Unleashed, Sonic and the Black Knight, pretty much the whole Storybook series.

I was actually hoping to get Sonic Riders, cause I love a good racing game, and it’s pretty orgasmic to see a Sonic racing game.

…though I never got it, BUT I’M PLANNING ON GETTING IT SOONER OR LATER D:

Anyways.

The next upcoming game is Sonic Colors, which is coming out this November.

It actually looks quite promising, and it looks like it’s somewhat bringing back the old Sonic Adventure-feel.

I’m pretty excited for it, and I hope I’m not disappointed this time.

It definitely looks way different than the storybook series, which makes me happier in the inside LOL, and from what I’ve seen so far, it reminds me of Sonic Heroes. (which is like one of my favorites.)

Although, I do miss the whole upgrade items.

…Even though Sonic Unleashed had them, but I never played it.

BUT.

After googling “Sonic Adventure 3” with hopeful results, I hear that Sega and Sonic Team are supposedly coming out with a new game in 2011, which they say will be their biggest and best…est.

People say that it might possibly be Sonic Adventure 3 (people say that Sonic Unleashed is Sonic Adventure 3, but not in my case ;/), but nothing’s confirmed. Some people even think it might be a sequel to Sonic Heroes.

What I’m hoping for is (obviously) Sonic Adventure 3, but a Sonic Heroes 2 will be cool, too.

I just want Sonic Adventure 3 cause I miss playing as multiple characters and the whole big fat story line and everything about it LOL.

Sorry, maybe I just miss being a kid.

Who knows?

But yea.

WELL. I guess this is the end of my rant, so..

Laters. :]

Leave a Reply

